Dandelion Radio
Dandelion Radio
Dandelion Radio
Home page
Latest station news & Dandelion related events
Dandelion Radio's broadcast schedule
What you can hear in this month's shows
Profiles of our DJs
Tracklist archive for previous shows
Background info and history
Dandelion Radio's Festive 50 results
Dandelion Radio related compilations and releases
Photos of Dandelion staff and events
Sign our guestbook
How to get in touch
Recommended websites
Dandelion Radio is
fully licenced with:
PRS For Music - Performing Right Society PPL - Phonographic Performance Limited
Listen to Dandelion Radio - click here for web player or one of the links to the right to open the audio stream Listen to Dandelion Radio with media players such as Winamp, iTunes & RealPlayer Listen to Dandelion Radio with Windows Media Player

'Broadcast One' - Dandelion Radio's 1st compilation album

Not much time left to hear the May shows - otherwise go to MixCloud to catch-up but without detailed artist info

Artist Info

Yeah Yeah Noh

Yeah Yeah Noh
Image from Discogs
Powered by Audioscrobbler™Yeah Yeah Noh were a post-punk group formed in Leicester, England in 1984. They released two albums and five singles while still together, and have had two compilation albums issued since they split in 1986.

The group reformed in 2011, an announcement appearing on the Cherry Red Records website: "STOP PRESS: Yeah Yeah Noh are back together and are playing live as of summer 2012, on the lookout for 'interesting gigs in fields; gardens with expansive lawns considered'."

Yeah Yeah Noh was formed by Derek Hammond (vocals, guitar), John Grayland (guitar), Adrian Crossan (bass) and Sue Dorey (drums, vocals). The band members also published "Printhead", a free magazine focusing on independent music in Leicester and its environs. They also produced "Let's Cut a Rug," a compilation LP of songs from local independent bands.

Signing to In-Tape records, the band debuted in June 1984 with the Cottage Industry EP, featuring humorous and satirical lyrics and post-punk/jangle pop music. After a further two ep's, the releases so far were collected on the album When I Am A Big Girl.

After adding Tom Slater on guitar, the band moved towards a more psychedelic sound and introduced more serious songwriting for first album proper, Cutting The Heavenly Lawn Of Greatness...Last Rites For The God Of Love in 1985. The band released a further single but split up in 1986. Hammond announced that he was forming two new groups, The New New Seekers and The Time Beings, but neither materialized, and he continued to work as a music journalist under the pseudonym D.J. Fontana.

The band's Peel sessions were collected on the Fun On The Lawn Lawn Lawn album in 1986, and a retrospective Leicester Square was issued by Cherry Red records in 2006.

The group which "emerged from a big sticky chrysalis" in the 21st century includes John, Derek and Tom from the '80s line-up, Dermot O'Sullivan (bass) who played guitar on various later '80s sessions, Antony Cook (drums) and Eva Landsberg (keyboards).
Read more on Last.fm. User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.
Artist biography from last.fm

Some other places to look for information: