Dandelion Radio
Dandelion Radio
Dandelion Radio
Home page
Latest station news & Dandelion related events
Dandelion Radio's broadcast schedule
What you can hear in this month's shows
Profiles of our DJs
Tracklist archive for previous shows
Background info and history
Dandelion Radio's Festive 50 results
Dandelion Radio related compilations and releases
Photos of Dandelion staff and events
Sign our guestbook
How to get in touch
Recommended websites
Dandelion Radio is
fully licenced with:
PRS For Music - Performing Right Society PPL - Phonographic Performance Limited
Listen to Dandelion Radio - click here for web player or one of the links to the right to open the audio stream Listen to Dandelion Radio with media players such as Winamp, iTunes & RealPlayer Listen to Dandelion Radio with Windows Media Player

'Broadcast One' - Dandelion Radio's 1st compilation album

Here we go again - fresh new shows for March

Artist Info

The Hollow Men

The Hollow Men
Image from Discogs
Powered by Audioscrobbler™There is more than one artist with this name:

1) The Hollow Men were a band from Leeds, England who existed between 1985 and 1991. David Ashmoore (vocal) Choque (guitar) Howard Taylor (bass) Brian E Roberts (guitar) and Johnny Cragg (drums).
The band toured with The Stone Roses, The Wonder Stuff and Ghost Dance. They also played with Suede and The Lilac Time.
The band decorated their stage set with tree's based on those found in the childrens TV show
"The Magic Roundabout" - hence the name of the bands live followers "The Toytown Architects". They also used these same props in their debut video for the single "White Train" (see below) which can be found on You Tube along with other promos.

Between 1985 and 1994 The Hollow Men released four albums and numerous singles.

Starting out as a two piece for the first single Late Flowering Lust, David Ashmoore and Choque (who was previously in Leeds band Salvation) were joined by bassist Howard Taylor for debut album Tales Of The Riverbank released on their own Evensong record label.
The three did another album The Man Who Would Be King again on Evensong before drummer Jonny Cragg, who had guested on the album and guitarist Brian E Roberts, a former band mate of Howards when they were in The Passmore Sisters together, joined.

They signed to Arista records in 1988 and released their debut single White Train which was a remixed a version of the song that originally appeared on the The Man Who Would Be King album. The only album the band made for Arista was Cresta released in 1990. The band split up in 1991.

The album Twisted made up from unreleased, demo and live tracks was released in the US only on November Records in 1994.

After David left new band Buzz Aldrin were formed but didn't last long. Jonny went on to drum in the band Spacehog & more recently Fever Hut, The Twenty Two's and Arkid, Choque in Mercury Music Nominees Black Star Liner & Sweetblood, Howard and Brian in the band Fever Hut. David has pursued his non musical artisic interests. See also: www.thehollowmen.eu

2) The Hollow Men were an obscure Brighton post-punk band (weren't they all?), featuring
Andrew Filshie doing vocals, guitar and synth, Gwyn Morgan on bass and Martin Rooth on drums. They are mostly known, if at all, for their track Never Again featured on the 1980 Brighton post-punk compilation "Vaultage 80: A Vinyl Chapter"

3) The Hollow Men were Founded in 2001 by four music lovin' friends from the Dutch towns of Goes and Zierikzee, raised on a steady diet of Heavy Metal, Punk, cheesy Classic (Hard)Rock and other racket. They play their first shows as The Speed Kings but since there are a bunch of other bands and artists with similar names they rapidly change it into The Hollow Men, after their first self-written tune.

In 2004 they release their first demo. Despite the fact that it's clearly recorded with no budget to speak of the reactions in the music press are mostly positive. Comparisons are made with Hüsker Dü, Screaming Trees, Queens Of The Stone Age, Foo Fighters, and Entombed.

The Hollow Men have since had their second release 'Music For Every Occasion and For Every Mood'.
See also: www.hollowmen.nl

4) The Hollow Men are a sketch comedy troupe from Cambridge, England consisting of David Armand, Nick Tanner, Rupert Russell, and Sam Spedding

5) The Hollow Men is Swedish singer-songwriter Dennis Sjöström, who began writing under "The Hollow Men" in late 2015, releasing his debut EP "Carry On" the following year. He cites Ben Howard and José González as influences for his own brand of acoustic pop.
Read more on Last.fm. User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.
Artist biography from last.fm

Some other places to look for information: