Dandelion Radio
Dandelion Radio
Dandelion Radio
Home page
Latest station news & Dandelion related events
Dandelion Radio's broadcast schedule
What you can hear in this month's shows
Profiles of our DJs
Tracklist archive for previous shows
Background info and history
Dandelion Radio's Festive 50 results
Dandelion Radio related compilations and releases
Photos of Dandelion staff and events
Sign our guestbook
How to get in touch
Recommended websites
Dandelion Radio is
fully licenced with:
PRS For Music - Performing Right Society PPL - Phonographic Performance Limited
Listen to Dandelion Radio - click here for web player or one of the links to the right to open the audio stream Listen to Dandelion Radio with media players such as Winamp, iTunes & RealPlayer Listen to Dandelion Radio with Windows Media Player

'Broadcast One' - Dandelion Radio's 1st compilation album

Not much time left to hear the May shows - otherwise go to MixCloud to catch-up but without detailed artist info

Artist Info


Powered by Audioscrobbler™Oracles is a Belgian extreme modern metal/melodic death metal band formed, as System Divide, by the couple Sven de Caluwé (of Aborted) and Miri Milman (of Distorted) and featuring members from Israel, Netherlands, Greece and the US. On March 13, 2014, the band had announced an indefinite hiatus[1] and disbanded after a messy divorce between Sven and Miri, but reformed on December, 2014 as Oracles, with Sanna Salou, from Dimlight, on vocals.

The band started as System Divide, a project by newlyweds Sven de Caluwé of deathgrind band Aborted and Miri Milman of progressive gothic metal outfit Distorted, in summer 2008, resulting in Miri leaving her position as lead vocalist in Distorted. Though, kept under a low profile in the beginning, the other band members and new information about the project was revealed later. Other members in the band included Cole Martinez on guitar, Andew Lenthe on bass and Mike Heller of Malignancy on drums, all from the US.[2]

In late 2008, the band entered Conquistador Recordings in Cleveland, Ohio to record their debut 4 track EP with guitarist Cole Martinez as producer. The EP was mixed and mastered by Jacob Hansen at Hansen Studios in Denmark in April and May 2009. The EP, entitled The Collapse was self-released by the band on May 17, 2009.[3][4]

Shortly after the release of the EP, the band started writing material for their first full-length album. Shortly after, the band was signed to Metal Blade Records for a major label contract to release their debut full-length album in 2010. The band entered the studio to record the album The Conscious Sedation

In November 2009, the band shot a music video for the first single from the EP - "The Apex Doctrine" with director Kevin James Custer in Brooklyn, New York. A trailer for the music video was uploaded by the band on November 17, 2009, promoting the soon to be released video, which wasn't released until August 2010 to coincide with the release of their debut album.

During the recording of their debut full-length album, The Conscious Sedation, the band recruited a lead guitarist - ex-Abigail Williams guitarist Michael Wilson, and changed producer to famed heavy metal producer and guitarist James Murphy.[4]

On June 2, 2010, it was announced that the mixing of the album was completed and that the album is being mastered and set for release on September 14, 2010.[5]

The band had its debut live show on July 21, 2010, in Tel Aviv, Israel at the Summer Carnage Fest, alongside bands such as Aborted, The Fading, Whorecore, Missing In Action, Phantom Pain and more.[6][7] Following their one-off Israeli show, the band went a Canadian cross-country tour in support of Aborted along with Augury, from August 19, 2010, up until September 6, 2010.[8] Around the same time, guitarist Cole Martinez has decided to leave the band. Gregory Macklin was recruited to be the band's touring guitarist for the 2011 tours.[9]

On November 17, 2010, it was announced the band will be going on a 20 date full North American tour between February 1–26, 2011, in support of Eluveitie, along with 3 Inches of Blood and Holy Grail.[10] During April 22–May 15, 2011, the band toured as part of Revolver Magazine's Hell Hath No Fury Tour with In This Moment, Straight Line Stitch and Sister Sin.[11][12]

Following the Hell Hath No Fury Tour in April–May 2011, it was announced that the band's bassist Andrew Lenthe has left the band. The band has recruit Andrei Aframov of Israeli death metal act Phantom Pain to be their touring bassist for the band's European appearances in October 2011. Mendel Bij de Leij was also recruited as an additional touring guitarist for these dates. It was later announced that Michael Wilson has departed the band, and Mendel Bij de Leij will be his official replacement as the band's lead guitarist.

On February 4, 2012, It was confirmed on Facebook that System Divide is working on a new album and it will be released sometime in late 2012, though no more information was released.[13]

On August 5, 2012, the band announced on Facebook that they were looking for a new guitarist to join the band, as Gregory Macklin was busy touring as the bassist for Jeff Loomis' solo band.[14]

On August 22, 2012, the band announced they are working on releasing a new single from the upcoming album in 2012, with the full album following in 2013. The new single, entitled "Ephemera" is set for release in early October.[15] On August 23, 2012, the single's artwork was revealed.[16]

On February 14, System Divide announced their second full length Cult of Indifference was delayed for a March 2014 release,[17] and was "set to be more brutal, faster, more epic, with lots of orchestration [...] more technical",[18] but it was shelved, before the divorce between Sven and Miri, although album artwork and a single have been officially released.

On March 13, 2014, System Divide announced indefinite hiatus on their Facebook page.[1] Later in that year, after a temporarily dissolution, the band announced that will be using the moniker Oracles, with Sanna Salou, from Dimlight, on vocals.
Musical style and influences

Oracles' musical style is mostly regarded as a combination of melodic death metal, gothic metal, groove metal and alternative metal with touches of metalcore, and elements taken from doom metal, symphonic metal, progressive metal and even electronic music. The band's debut EP The Collapse was promoted as extreme modern metal, comparing the band to such bands as Slipknot, Killswitch Engage, Soilwork, Opeth, Strapping Young Lad, Lacuna Coil, Arch Enemy, Dimmu Borgir, Whitechapel, Katatonia and Morbid Angel.[19]
Band members

Current members

Sven de Caluwé - lead vocals (2008–present)
Andrei Aframov - bass guitar (2011–present)
Mendel Bij de Leij - lead guitar (2011–present)
Ken Bedene - bass guitar (2011), drums, percussion (2013–present)
Steve Miller - rhythm guitar (2012–present)
Sanna Salou - lead vocals (2014–present)

Former members

Miri Milman - lead vocals (2008–2014)
Mike Heller - drums, percussion (2008–2013)
Greg Macklin - rhythm guitar (2011–2012)
Ryan Hilerio - drums, percussion (2012)
Andrew Lenthe - bass guitar (2008–2011)
Michael Wilson - lead guitar (2009–2011)
Cole Martinez - rhythm guitar (2008–2010)
Ken Sorceron - rhythm guitar (2010)
Joseph Spiller - lead guitar (2009)
Thomas G. Plaguehammer - lead guitar (2008)


2009 - The Collapse (EP)
2010 - The Conscious Sedation
2012 - Ephemera (single)
2016 - Miserycorde
Read more on Last.fm. User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.
Artist biography from last.fm

Some other places to look for information: