Dandelion Radio
Dandelion Radio
Dandelion Radio
Home page
Latest station news & Dandelion related events
Dandelion Radio's broadcast schedule
What you can hear in this month's shows
Profiles of our DJs
Tracklist archive for previous shows
Background info and history
Dandelion Radio's Festive 50 results
Dandelion Radio related compilations and releases
Photos of Dandelion staff and events
Sign our guestbook
How to get in touch
Recommended websites
Dandelion Radio is
fully licenced with:
PRS For Music - Performing Right Society PPL - Phonographic Performance Limited
Listen to Dandelion Radio - click here for web player or one of the links to the right to open the audio stream Listen to Dandelion Radio with media players such as Winamp, iTunes & RealPlayer Listen to Dandelion Radio with Windows Media Player

'Broadcast One' - Dandelion Radio's 1st compilation album

NEWS:Loads of new songs to listen to this month - 30 hours of great shows

Artist Info

De Staat

De Staat
Image from Discogs
Powered by Audioscrobbler™De Staat is a Dutch alternative rock band from Nijmegen, The Netherlands, formed in 2006. The band, fronted by songwriter, singer, guitarist and producer, Torre Florim, released four albums: Waiting For Evolution (2009), Machinery (2011), I_Con (2013) and O (2016).

De Staat have been described by SonicAbuse as "genre-hopping Gremlins of the first order, who take in the eclectic, grand slamming funk of Beck, the dance grooves of Kelis’ Milkshake, the horny soul of QOTSA (...) and the lost, gothic romanticism of Nick Cave often within the same song."

The band's sound gradually evolved from rather heavy, riff-based 'desert rock' in the vein of Queens Of The Stone Age and Kyuss to a more eclectic 'heavy disco' sound with funky synthesizers and bouncing melodies. Typical for this shift in sound is 2014's Vinticious Versions EP, on which - if you wish - the 'new De Staat' interprets songs of the 'old De Staat'.

Torre Florim - vocals, guitar
Vedran Mircetic - guitar
Jop van Summeren - bass, vocals
Rocco Bell - percussion, keyboards, vocals
Tim van Delft – drums


De Staat debuted in 2009 with Wait for Evolution and shortly thereafter performed on all major Dutch stages and festivals such as Lowlands and Pinkpop, and internationally at Sziget and Glastonbury. The album was awarded various prizes, and in 2011 and 2012 the band received a 3FM Award for Best Alternative Act. Second album Machinery was released in 2011. Once again, De Staat toured a large number of European venues and festivals, this time with an extra element added to their live shows: a huge, specially built machine. In 2013 they released I_CON, which was awarded an Edison, Holland’s most prestigious music prize. Late 2013 they played three packed out riotous shows at the Black Heart in London.

Read more on Last.fm. User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.
Artist biography from last.fm

Some other places to look for information: