Dandelion Radio
Dandelion Radio
Dandelion Radio
Home page
Latest station news & Dandelion related events
Dandelion Radio's broadcast schedule
What you can hear in this month's shows
Profiles of our DJs
Tracklist archive for previous shows
Background info and history
Dandelion Radio's Festive 50 results
Dandelion Radio related compilations and releases
Photos of Dandelion staff and events
Sign our guestbook
How to get in touch
Recommended websites
Dandelion Radio is
fully licenced with:
PRS For Music - Performing Right Society PPL - Phonographic Performance Limited
Listen to Dandelion Radio - click here for web player or one of the links to the right to open the audio stream Listen to Dandelion Radio with media players such as Winamp, iTunes & RealPlayer Listen to Dandelion Radio with Windows Media Player

'Broadcast One' - Dandelion Radio's 1st compilation album

22 hours of December shows - plus 2021 Festive 50 arriving from Christmas day.

Artist Info

Yura Yura Teikoku

Yura Yura Teikoku
Image from Discogs
Powered by Audioscrobbler™Yura Yura Teikoku (literally "Unstable Empire") was a 3-piece band from Tokyo's underground music scene centered around Kōenji. They have an eclectic sound usually described as psychedelic rock. Whilst renowned and highly influential within Japan, it took them 16 years since their formation in 1989 to play a show outside of Japan, performing in New York City in 2005.

Yura Yura Teikoku was formed in 1989 with vocalist/guitarist Shintaro Sakamoto as leader, bassist Chiyo Kamekawa and a succession of other members. Drummer Ichiro Shibata joined in 1997 to form the current lineup, and the trio soon signed with Midi Records. The band released five studio albums, one live recording album and two greatest hits albums on Midi.

In 2005, Yura Yura Teikoku signed with Sony Japan and released their ninth studio album, "SWEET SPOT", and a remix 12-inch,“SOFT DEATH / FRANKIE TEARDROP" (Suicide cover). “SOFT DEATH" was embraced by the dance community, and "SWEET SPOT" was elected one of the best albums of the year in various media in Japan and overseas. The band also released a live album of material from their Midi years titled "na.ma.shi.bi.re.na.ma.me.ma.i" on New York-based Mesh-Key Records.
In October of the same year, Mesh-Key Records organized two shows for the band in New York (their first shows ever outside Japan), and was welcomed with rave reviews by the local media. New and old fans alike packed into the venues to see the band's one-of-a-kind performance.

In June, 2006, the CD single “Into The Next Night” and remix 12-inch“Into The Next Night / You Can't Fight Fate”were released. In July, Mesh-Key Records released the 12-inch“SOFT DEATH / IT WAS A ROBOT" and brought the band back for a second batch of New York shows, which were even more packed than the first. The "SOFT DEATH" 12-inch has been championed by such deejays as Rub'N Tug and DJ Harvey.
In 2006, the band headlined at various major festivals in Japan and Taiwan. In May 2007, Mesh-Key Records released the US version of "SWEET SPOT." In the same year, YURA YURA TEIKOKU went on their first Australian tour.
In July 2007, they released the single “Beautiful" and in fall 2007 they released their first studio album in two and a half years, "Hollow Me." DFA Records combined Beautiful and Hollow Me for a full-length CD release in November 2009.

As of March 31, 2010, according to the band's official website, after 21 years playing together the band has amicably broken up citing a loss of excitement. Each member plans to continue playing music in other projects in the future.

Shintaro Sakamoto (坂本慎太郎) - vocals, guitar
Chiyo Kamekawa (亀川千代) - bass guitar
Ichiro Shibata (柴田一郎) - drums

Official web pages:

check also ゆらゆら帝国
Read more on Last.fm. User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.
Artist biography from last.fm

Some other places to look for information: