Dandelion Radio
Dandelion Radio
Dandelion Radio
Home page
Latest station news & Dandelion related events
Dandelion Radio's broadcast schedule
What you can hear in this month's shows
Profiles of our DJs
Tracklist archive for previous shows
Background info and history
Dandelion Radio's Festive 50 results
Dandelion Radio related compilations and releases
Photos of Dandelion staff and events
Sign our guestbook
How to get in touch
Recommended websites
Dandelion Radio is
fully licenced with:
PRS For Music - Performing Right Society PPL - Phonographic Performance Limited
Listen to Dandelion Radio - click here for web player or one of the links to the right to open the audio stream Listen to Dandelion Radio with media players such as Winamp, iTunes & RealPlayer Listen to Dandelion Radio with Windows Media Player

'Broadcast One' - Dandelion Radio's 1st compilation album

22 hours this month including two sessions and a special tribute to CAN

Artist Info

The Band Whose Name Is A Symbol

The Band Whose Name Is A Symbol
Image from Discogs
Powered by Audioscrobbler™The idea for TBWNIS was born in the spring of 2008 by Mark McIntyre (Red Hots/Weapons Of Mass Seduction) & John Westhaver (Exploding Meet/Resin Scraper), bass and drums respectively. The two were fresh off 4 years as the rhythm section of a garage psych outfit called Four ‘N’ Giv’r; who released 2 full length albums and played many shows, sharing stages with Lost Sounds, King Khan & BBQ, the Dirtbombs, Bellrays and many others.

Finding 2 guitarists, William Guerrero (Weapons Of Mass Seduction/Expatriates) and Nathaniel Hurlow (Dead City Rebels/Glads/Fortunate Sons), the four set about creating the ultimate marriage of improvisation and hard rock edged psychedelic music. Coinciding with the groups 1st gig in the fall of 2008, TBWNIS self released a ltd. edition lathe cut album (40 copies). The lathe was subsequently followed by 2 vinyl only LPs (100 copies each) entitled “Superficial Marks” and “Biker Smell”.

Since April of 2011 TBWNIS have been performing and recording as a 6 piece group. The current lineup includes Jason Vaughan (ex-Cold Coffee & Salty Boots) on electronics/keys/percussion, Dave Reford (Castor) on guitar and percussion and Flecton Big Sky on guitar. LP’s that have been released during this period include “TBWNIS Vs. The Purveyors of Conspicuous Authenticity” (2011), “Punks, Twats and Urban Cowboys” and ”TBWNIS and Damo Suzuki Live 2012”. March 2013 saw the release of the groups 7th LP entitled “Scrappy Little Jaw”. As per usual all LPs are ltd. to 100 copies on the Birdman Sound record label. In 2015 “Pathfinder” was issued and there was a second re-pressing of 100 copies done as well. In November 2015 The group had their album “Masters Of The Molehill” released on the prestigious UK label Cardinal Fuzz!

TBWNIS sounds like Hawkwind meets Acid Mothers Temple with Krautrock, progressive and middle-eastern tones.
Read more on Last.fm. User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.
Artist biography from last.fm

Some other places to look for information: