Dandelion Radio
Dandelion Radio
Dandelion Radio
Home page
Latest station news & Dandelion related events
Dandelion Radio's broadcast schedule
What you can hear in this month's shows
Profiles of our DJs
Tracklist archive for previous shows
Background info and history
Dandelion Radio's Festive 50 results
Dandelion Radio related compilations and releases
Photos of Dandelion staff and events
Sign our guestbook
How to get in touch
Recommended websites
Dandelion Radio is
fully licenced with:
PRS For Music - Performing Right Society PPL - Phonographic Performance Limited
Listen to Dandelion Radio - click here for web player or one of the links to the right to open the audio stream Listen to Dandelion Radio with media players such as Winamp, iTunes & RealPlayer Listen to Dandelion Radio with Windows Media Player

'Broadcast One' - Dandelion Radio's 1st compilation album

NEWS:For October we have 13 shows - good that we are not superstitious

Artist Info

Savage Republic

Savage Republic
Image from Discogs
Powered by Audioscrobbler™Savage Republic is a seminal Los Angeles Tribal-Industrial-Art-Punk band from the 1980s, currently reformed and active with a different line-up. They were influenced by a diverse array of music, including Glenn Branca, Can, DNA, Amon Duul, PiL, The Pop Group, Joy Division, Throbbing Gristle, Cabaret Voltaire, The Ventures and Flipper, as well as a variety of ethnic music from around the world. Their sound and aesthetic approach resonated alongside contemporaries such as Einstürzende Neubauten, Sonic Youth and the Butthole Surfers.

In 2005 Savage Republic reformed, albeit without "leader" Bruce Licher, touring the U.S. west coast. The band now consists of post-1983 "core" members Greg Grunke, Thom Fuhrmann and Ethan Port, as well as drummer Sterling Fox (who performed in several post-Savage Republic projects with this trio). The massive Glenn Branca-inspired guitar shimmering still remains.

In Jan 2006 Savage Republic co-headlined the Los Angeles "How to Destroy the Universe - Part 5" festival with Blixa Bargeld.

In 2007 Alan Waddington joined as permanent drummer.

"1938", their first studio album in nearly two decades, was released on Neurot Recordings in October 2007.

Val Haller joined Savage Republic on the 2008 European tour and recorded tracks for the 1983 album.

Jack Housen joined Savage Republic on the 2009 European tour.

In 2010 Kerry Dowling replaced Greg Grunke.

The lineup of Fuhrmann, Dowling, Waddington and Port toured several more times in the US and Europe, and worked on several new albums.

The album "Varvakios" was released in 2013 on LTM records

The album "Aegean" was released Feb, 2014.
Read more on Last.fm. User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.
Artist biography from last.fm

Some other places to look for information: