Dandelion Radio
Dandelion Radio
Dandelion Radio
Home page
Latest station news & Dandelion related events
Dandelion Radio's broadcast schedule
What you can hear in this month's shows
Profiles of our DJs
Tracklist archive for previous shows
Background info and history
Dandelion Radio's Festive 50 results
Dandelion Radio related compilations and releases
Photos of Dandelion staff and events
Sign our guestbook
How to get in touch
Recommended websites
Dandelion Radio is
fully licenced with:
PRS For Music - Performing Right Society PPL - Phonographic Performance Limited
Listen to Dandelion Radio - click here for web player or one of the links to the right to open the audio stream Listen to Dandelion Radio with media players such as Winamp, iTunes & RealPlayer Listen to Dandelion Radio with Windows Media Player

'Broadcast One' - Dandelion Radio's 1st compilation album

For June we have 30 hours of new shows - including an exclusive session

Artist Info

Eppu Normaali

Eppu Normaali
Image from Discogs
Powered by Audioscrobbler™Eppu Normaali is a Finnish rock band formed Ylöjärvi, Finland in 1976. The band has enjoyed quite a stable line up throughout their career, still featuring original members Martti Syrjä (vocals), Mikko Syrjä (guitar), Juha Torvinen (guitar) and Aku Syrjä (drums). Original bassist Mikko Saarela was replaced first by Mikko Nevalainen from 1979 to 1989 and Sami Ruusukallio from 1990 onwards.

The band went through a number of names until settling to Eppu Normaali 1977 after a Mel Brooks' movie, Young Frankenstein. Under the Eppu Normaali monicker the band appeared on a local rock band competition, but the jury remained unimpressed - the exception to the rule being the Finnish rock legend, Juice Leskinen. Subsequently they were picked up by newly formed POKO Rekords, which released their debut record Aknepop in 1978.

Their early Ramones-influenced punk pop style gradually evolved to a more contemporary, almost AOR-like sound, peaking in the mid-eighties with albums like Rupisia riimejä, karmeita tarinoita (1984),Kahdeksas ihme (1985) , Valkoinen kupla (1986) and Imperiumin vastaisku (1988). The last three have recorded sales of over 100,000 copies respectively.

1990's Historian suurmiehiä still performed well saleswise, but the band was running out of creative juices. After 1993's Studio Etana the band went on indefinitive hiatus, only broken by 1996's best selling compilation, Repullinen hittejä and a finnish tour. Sporadic gigs and festival appearances followed during late nineties and early noughties before a new studio record, Sadan vuoden päästäkin, finally emerged in 2004.

Their latest studio effort, Tiheän sisään, was released in 2007 and in 2011 they released Mutala, an album containing accoustic renditions of their songs.
Read more on Last.fm. User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.
Artist biography from last.fm

Some other places to look for information: