Dandelion Radio
Dandelion Radio
Dandelion Radio
Home page
Latest station news & Dandelion related events
Dandelion Radio's broadcast schedule
What you can hear in this month's shows
Profiles of our DJs
Tracklist archive for previous shows
Background info and history
Dandelion Radio's Festive 50 results
Dandelion Radio related compilations and releases
Photos of Dandelion staff and events
Sign our guestbook
How to get in touch
Recommended websites
Dandelion Radio is
fully licenced with:
PRS For Music - Performing Right Society PPL - Phonographic Performance Limited
Listen to Dandelion Radio - click here for web player or one of the links to the right to open the audio stream Listen to Dandelion Radio with media players such as Winamp, iTunes & RealPlayer Listen to Dandelion Radio with Windows Media Player

'Broadcast One' - Dandelion Radio's 1st compilation album

22 hours of December shows - plus 2021 Festive 50 arriving from Christmas day.

Artist Info

Girls At Our Best!

Powered by Audioscrobbler™Girls At Our Best! were a post-punk group, founded in Leeds, England in 1979 under the name the Butterflies. The group consisted of vocalist Judy Evans, guitarist James Alan and bassist Gerald Swift, later adding drummer Carl Harper.

The band's name came from a line in their song "Warm Girls", which first appeared on a 1980 single coupled with "Getting Nowhere Fast" on Record Records (catalogue number RR1). The song reached number 9 in the UK indie charts, and their second single, "Politics" c/w "It's Fashion!" (Record Records RR2) reached number 12 later that year. . After a third single, 1981's "Go for Gold" c/w "I'm Beautiful Now" on Happy Birthday Records (UR4), the group released an album, Pleasure, that year which came complete with a "Pleasure Bag" comprising of stickers and postcards. It was also the first album to be released on the Happy Birthday label (catalogue number RULP1) and reached number 2 on the Indie chart. Their fourth and final single "Fast Boyfriends" c/w "This Train" (Happy Birthday Records UR6) was released that same year.

In 1987, their 1981 John Peel Sessions' 12" was released (Strange Fruit Records SFPS029) featuring "China Blue" and "This Train" on the A-side and a medley of other tracks entitled "Getting Beautiful Warm Gold Fast From Nowhere" on the B-side.
Read more on Last.fm. User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.
Artist biography from last.fm

Some other places to look for information: